Agile Certifications

Agile is being implemented the world over now and thus the demand of people proficient in agile methodologies is also skyrocketing. To meet this need several agile certifications are offered by different organizations, some of the major ones are listed below:

Project Management Institute (PMI) Offers:

  • ACP: Agile Certified Practitioner


Scrum Certifications:

Scrum Alliance offers:

  • CSM – CertifiedScrumMaster
  • CSPO – CertifiedScrumProductOwner
  • CSD – CertifiedScrumDeveloper
  • CSP – CertifiedScrumProfessional
  • CSC – CertifiedScrumCoach
  • CEC – CertifiedEnterpriseCoach
  • CST – CertifiedScrumTrainer offers:

  • PSD-I: Professional Scrum Developer – I
  • PSPO-I: Professional Scrum Product Owner – I
  • PSPO-II: Professional Scrum Product Owner – II
  • PSM-I: Professional Scrum Master – I
  • PSM-II: Professional Scrum Master – II
  • PSM-III: Professional Scrum Master – III
  • SPS – Scaled Professional Scrum


Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) certifications:

  • SAFe Agilist (SA)
  • SAFe Practitioner (SP)
  • SAFe Scrum Master (SSM)
  • SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM)
  • SAFe Product Manager / Product Owner (PMPO)
  • SAFe Program Consultant (SPC)
  • SAFe Program Consultant Trainer (SPCT)
  • SAFe Product Manager/Product Owner (SPMPO)   


Xtreme Programming (XP) certifications:

  • Professional Scrum Developer – I (PSD-I) from 
  • Certified Scrum Developer (CSD) from Scrum Alliance


Kanban certifications:

Although Kanban certifications are too famous but Lean Kanban University offers several Kanban certifications. 


Like my blog? 



Types of Agile Methodologies

Agile Software development is a High-Level Term used for all different kinds of incremental and iterative software development frameworks and these frameworks essentially follow the core ideas of Agile development like the 12 point agile manifesto. Some of the most widely used frameworks in the industry which are considered the various types of agile methodologies are:

  • Scrum
  • Extreme Programming (XP)
  • Kanban
  • Lean
  • SAFe (Scaled Agile Framework)
  • TDD (Test Driven Development)
  • ATDD (Advanced Test Driven Development)

These frameworks differ from each other in several ways but the basic values of all of these are derived from Agile Manifesto. All these are iterative and incremental processes which support the idea of continuous improvement. In other words, all these frameworks prescribe to develop the final product in small batches and eventually deliver it as a whole on time and on budget. Also keep improving the process continuously inspecting and adapting to the changes on the fly. And the above listed frameworks also emphasize on the empowerment  and self organization of the team members.


Like my blog?